Canada has a long and proud tradition in the world of plowing. Although the Canadian Plowing Organization was not founded until 1955, three years after the World Ploughing Organization, Canada was strongly involved with the creation of the World Organization. In fact, Mr. Jack Carroll from Ontario was the first Chairman and the first World Competition was held at Cobourg, Ontario in 1953. Jim Eccles, a Canadian was the first winner.

Since then, six of the sixty world championships have been held in Canada. Canada hosted the 60th world championship plowing contests at Olds College, Olds, Alberta in 2013.

The CPO is registered as a non-profit organization with Industry Canada. It derives its funding from membership fees, corporate sponsors, donations and other fund-raising ventures. To support the Canadian Plowing Organization contact the Secretary on the Contact page. Our Corporate sponsors are recognized on the Sponsors page.

More than two hundred plowpersons have competed in Canadian Plowing Championships with the winners competing in World Plowing Championships.

 The World Ploughing Competition has been held in Canada on six occasions

       1953   Cobourg, Ontario       

1963   Caledon, Ontario

1975   Oshawa-Whitby, Ontario

1986   Olds, Alberta

2003   Elora, Ontario

2013   Olds, Alberta


News articles reporting rededication of 1953 Cairn of Peace