The Canadian Plowing Championships consist of three national plowing championship contests.

The Senior Plowing Championship with conventional plows

The Senior Plowing Championship with reversible plows

The Junior Plowing Championship with conventional plows.

All competitors at the Canadian Plowing Championships are required to follow the Canadian Plowing Organization Rules, Regulations and Safety Policy. Please note that the plowing rules have been updated for 2017.


The Canadian Plowing Organization announces amendments to the 2017 competition:”

            Tom Murdock, President of the Canadian Plowing Organization (CPO) is pleased to announce a modification that affects the 2017 competition and beyond.

            To enhance the award and experience for winning the Canadian Plowing Championship, the Champions of each of the 3 classes of competitors (Senior Conventional, Senior Reversible and Junior Conventional) will be eligible to compete the following competition year. (Junior Champions will still be subject to the age limitation).   This provides an opportunity for the Provincial Association that these competitors originally represented, to send an additional competitor if the Canadian Champion again qualifies at their Provincial Championship.

            This change has been implemented in other National competitions with success.  The support for the motion reflects the large geographic catchment area of the CPO, the availability of worthy competitors and the opportunity for more plow persons to experience the high calibre of competition. The Organization sees this as an important step forward.

2019   Canadian Plowing Championship 
Sunderland, Ontario

2018   Canadian Plowing Championship  -  August 22 - 25, 2018
            Waldo Farms - Sussex, New Brunswick

Future Canadian matches will be held in the follow areas.

2019  Sunderland, Ontario  •   2020  Rivers, Manitoba  •  2021 British Columbia


The winner in each of the Conventional Class and the Reversible class is entitled to plow at the next years' World Ploughing Competition.

2018   World Ploughing Championship  - Germany
                      August 25th to
 Sept 25th, 2018

2017   World Ploughing Championship  - Kenya